Holiday and Everyday Songs
Ages: 5-10 yrs.
Type: Audio
By Hap-Pal Music

What a fun, diverse, and well recorded album! The first song, "We have a Dream," gets right to the heart of social justice with a tinge of a gospel sound. "Cinco de Mayo" is a great tune to inform us about Mexican culture. The song is catchy and has a nice groove and contagious hook. We really liked Xin Nian Kwai Le for not only its uniqueness but for simply recognizing and including Chinese New Year in the collection. This cd is great for teaching empathy and cultural awareness to elementary aged kids!

We learned about many different holidays and cultures. In particular, the songs sparked conversation around the similarities and differences in languages and sounds. We loved the overall diversity of the cd.

We loved this cd! Witches' Brew was by far our favorite. I remember singing this one when I was a young lad!

Holiday and Everyday Songs
Spring 2016 Music
Ages: 5-12 yrs.
Producer: Hap-Pal Music

This uplifting sixteen-song musical collection celebrates holidays and occurrences great and small, days and moments that stand out in our individual or collective histories as being special. The album kicks off with 'We Have a Dream,' a soulful, gospel-tinged song with a resoundingly upbeat feel that celebrates Martin Luther King Day. It's a perfect convergence of sound and concept and representative of the way the artist so successfully tailors each arrangement to the mood of the holiday. The songs traverse a variety of styles (including Bluegrass, Dixieland, Rock & Roll, and others) that are as diverse as the holidays and occasions they honor. Each song has vocals, but instrumental versions (original track minus vocals) are included for most of the tracks so that kids can enjoy singing along solo once they know the lyrics. Holidays include Thanksgiving, Valentine's Day, Halloween, Fourth of July, Earth Day, Cinco de Mayo, a Birthday Medley for family and friends, and several others.

Holiday and Everyday Songs
Spring 2016 Music
Ages: 5-12 yrs.
Producer: Hap-Pal Music

The field of music for young children has grown significantly over the 20-plus years since Hap Palmer began recording his educational, music-and-movement-based albums. But this notable singer/songwriter, multiple instrumentalist, and early childhood expert is still at the top of his game, and the proof is this exceptional album. Here, mellow-voiced Palmer isn't using his notable talents to draw young listeners into an understanding of phonics, math basics, shapes and colors and other educational concepts; instead, he has turned real life-inspired moments ("Morning Time at the Zoo," "Scamper," "Food") and all manner of holidays (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Thanksgiving, Cinco de Mayo, Valentine's Day, Chinese New Year, Halloween), into musical gold, rich with varied rhythms, resonant lyrics, and inspired melodies and harmonic layers. The album ends with soft instrumental tracks of each song for individual or group singing. A pleasure for ears of all ages.

Lynne Heffley ©2016 Parents' Choice – A freelance writer and editor for the arts and non-profit organizations, Lynne is a former staff writer for the Los Angeles Times, where she established the paper's first weekly children's arts and entertainment beat.

Kids First! Endorsement and an All Star rating
from Coalition For Quality Children's Media​

Kids Critics Say:
Hap Palmer Holiday and Everyday Songs is fun to listen to. We like the music and the singing. The singing is not like other songs. The songs have expression and feelings. We especially like the song Witches' Brew. The words are so fun and it's catchy. That song gets stuck in your head all day. We love it! It's our favorite. We also like the song Scamper a lot. We think other kids would like this CD because it's really fun!

Adult Critics Say:
At last count Hap Palmer has written over a million songs - most people will be too lazy to fact check that fact. It's an election year. I elect Mr. Palmer to the Kids Music Hall of Fame alongside Mister Rogers another bastion of children's rights even when they're wrong sometime and need a hug and a cup of musical cocoa. 'Holiday and Everyday Songs' is a 19-song extravaganza of musical styles and feel good candy kisses that will have mom and dad dancing in Neolithic ways and kids downright digging the tunes and sharing and learning different cultural celebrations and appreciations. This album is memorable! Reviewed by John Wood, KIDS FIRST! Music Judge.

Midwest Book Review
Holiday and Everyday Songs
Written and Performed by Hap Palmer

Review by James Cox

Holiday and Everyday Songs is an eclectic music CD for all ages by popular performer Hap Palmer. The songs give tribute to a wide variety of holidays, (although a birthday medley of four songs is specifically about the joy of celebrating one's birthday.) Playful and exuberant, Holiday and Everyday Songs is pure fun, and comes with a free downloadable teaching guide from the website, featuring lyrics, activities, and photos. The tracks are, We Have A Dream, Turkey Tale, Valentine's Song, Halloween Hike, Happy Birthday U.S.A., Nature's Sweet Endless Song, Cinco de Mayo, Scamper, Food, Morning Time at the Zoo, Put Another Candle On Your Cake, Out The Candles Go, Celebrate The Day, Birthday Boogie, Xin Nian Kuai Le, Sheltering Evergreen Tree, Ki Va Moed, Witches' Brew, Every Day's A Special Day, plus instrumental tracks of almost every song. Highly recommended!

Research indicates that children need to actively engage with mathematical concepts early to build a strong foundation for later math learning. Research also indicates that music engages children's brains and stimulates neural pathways associated with higher forms of intelligence like abstract thinking and mathematics. So imagine what happens for children when math and music are intentionally combined!

In his newest CD, Count, Add, Subtract! Fun with Math, Music, and Movement, Hap Palmer uses fun songs and games to help children work on basic math facts and problem-solving strategies. The songs are presented in a logical order, starting with the easiest concepts and working up to harder ones. They also represent a wide variety of musical styles that are appealing to children, including a skip-counting hip hop song sung in "bug voices," and an addition/ subtraction train track with a country twang! Hap's website ( includes the lyrics to each song, teacher tips, some basic math theory, visuals, and activity ideas. As always, the quality of Hap's work is excellent – creative, professional, accurate, engaging, brilliant. This diverse collection of educational songs and materials proves why Hap Palmer has remained a legend in the field of early education for over 20 years! – Review by Judy Ballweg, Preschool Resource Teacher, Madison Metropolitan School District
(Madison, WI) and creator of Math at Play – Review by Judy Ballweg, Preschool Resource Teacher, Madison Metropolitan School District (Madison, WI) and creator of Math at Play.

2009 Parents’ Choice Gold Award Winner

Veteran children's music artist and educator Hap Palmer has used sing-along lessons to tunefully help preschoolers and grade-schoolers with vowels, consonants, phonics, simple arithmetic, shapes and telling time. In his latest outing, Palmer applies his outstanding signature blend of music, fun and learning to shed light on the mysteries of multiplication. With infectious rhythms and melodies, Palmer helps listeners scale a "Multiplication Mountain." Base camp features "The Twos Give You Twice," "Fives Alive," "Tens Trip Off Your Tongue" and "Elevens Have Those Doubles." At the summit: the tables of 7 ("Almost To The Top") and 12 ("Reach For The Sun"). Palmer includes lyrics and a thoughtful activity guide for parents and teachers as well as a multiplication table and pointers about patterns and terms.

Multiplication Mountain,  Hap Palmer,
2009. Music CD, guide, lyrics, and activities,
Hap-Pal Music; or

This CD targets elementary school children who are familiar with the multiplication  tables. Listeners practice the table while singing along in a call-and-response format.  An alternative version of each song, rerecorded without the response, allows listeners to sing the answers on their own.

The package includes lyrics, the multiplication tables, and definitions of key mathematical terms. When I first listened to the CD, I was pleasantly surprised to hear polished, professionally performed and recorded songs that maintain listeners' interest.

I did not have the opportunity to play the CD for grade-appropriate children. My two-and-a-half-year old can count to twenty in three languages, but she does not yet know her times tables. Nevertheless, her enjoyment of the CD gives me one more reason to recommend it. - Gary Scarpello, North Montco Technical Career Center, Lansdale, PA 19446.

Review from Teaching Children Mathematics published by
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics  February 2010, Page 375

Read & Sing with Hap Palmer

Hap-Pal Music, 2012 DVD

Delightful as the illustrations are to Hap Palmer's songs that support this on-point vision, they do not distract or negate how brilliant his song writing abilities are. There are so many gems – so many actual diamonds that transcend time and therefore cascade into my own personal category of evergreen music. Ladies and Gentlemen of the jury, this amalgam of just SOME of Hap Palmer's greatest hits should be grafted into the TREE OF FAME that promotes and supports classic and relevant music for children. – by John Wood

Product Reviews from a Mom with Way Too Much Laundry
By Jennifer
April 8, 2009

I have found the perfect product to help my daughter memorize her multiplication tables. This has been a tough spot in Math for us and every lesson leaves us both feeling frustrated. But after I received the Multiplication Mountain CD to review I began to see a ray of hope. Not only does this CD teach you but it does so in a way that allows kids to have fun.

The tunes range from jazzy, bluesy and reggae and it is so fun to listen to. I love this CD, the tunes are catchy, the lessons are clear and the fun my daughter has is priceless. I love that I have caught her singing the songs every once in awhile. So I know it is working and I have seen it in her schoolwork.

Multiplication Mountain is a must have to help your kids along the way, heck this CD even helped me out a bit, 8s and 9s always have made me stop to think about it for a minute. Not anymore thanks to Hap Palmer and his great music.

See the full review at:

By Espie Estrella,

There are certain math concepts that can be difficult to grasp, especially if the student is young. Learning the multiplication table is perhaps one of the most challenging math facts children have to conquer. Fortunately, there is a new CD called Multiplication Mountain that can help kids master this concept faster. Incidentally, my child is learning multiplication in school so I put this CD to the test. Let me just say this...Hap Palmer delivers.

In this new CD, multiplication facts are presented in a logical sequence; starting off with the easiest and slowly moving on to more challenging facts. Children learn multiplying by 2s, 10s, 5s and 11s on the first level. On the second level, they learn multiplying by 3s, 9s and 4s, followed by 6s and 8s on the third level. As they reach the top of the multiplication mountain, kids tackle multiplying by 7s before finally reaching the sun where the
number 12 is.

Each fact has a corresponding song which makes learning how to multiply less tedious and more fun. All the songs are well-written and catchy; it also incorporates different styles of music like waltz, classical and rock and roll. Each song is repeated twice; the first one with the complete lyrics an the second one minus the answers to the multiplication fact
being learned.

Since 1969, Hap Palmer has helped young children build their vocabularies and math skills through music. I remember listening to his songs when I was in elementary school. It will be no surprise then if Multiplication Mountain becomes another product that will be used in homes and schools for years to come.

By Espie Estrella, From ( is part of The New York Times Company

See the full review at:

Multiplication Mountain - Hap Palmer, 2009

Popular children's recording artist Hap Palmer has written and performs 13 songs about the times tables, from the twos through the twelves, as well as a "Shake Up The Tables" song. These bouncy tunes, in styles from country to classical to jazz to rock, help youngsters memorize basic multiplication facts and teach some of the basic rules. All songs are available in two versions-one with the answers and one without-so that children who have learned the songs can start inserting their own answers without prompting. A children's chorus provides backup and helps make the presentation even more kid-friendly. The easier facts-twos, tens, fives, and elevens-come first. Later songs concentrate on more difficult concepts. This is a fun, interactive way to encourage students to learn and memorize the basic facts that are essential for math success.-Teresa Bateman, Brigadoon Elementary School,
Federal Way, WA.


Multiplication Mountain - Hap Palmer

Excellent approach for summertime and anytime learning. Multiplication facts are easy to learn when your child has the chance to climb Multiplication Mountain. There's no getting around it, learning the multiplication tables requires repetition. But this approach of putting the facts in a musical format of well crafted songs makes the repetition fun. When Hap Palmer's daughter was in third grade, her teacher taught the multiplication tables in the order most children find easiest to learn starting with the 2s, 5s, 10s, and 11s tables first. This approach intrigued the award winning songwriter and educator as he presents the multiplication facts in songs starting with the easiest tables on the first level. The child learns a fact found further up the mountain. For example, because 2 x 9 equals 18, 9 x 2 also equals 18. Child quickly understands that multiplication facts are easy to learn if you slowly, but steadily, climb the Multiplication Mountain. Each table has its own catchy song to help memorize the facts. The tables are interspersed with fun word play and rhymes. For example, in "The Twos Give You Twice," children learn: all you have to do is double every number. A five foot board becomes ten feet of lumber. A six bar tune becomes a twelve bar blues. You can double any number you choose. Lots of musical styles are offered from country, classical, jazz, to rock and make the climb engaging and fun. Each song is played with answers and without answers.

Multiplication Mountain - Hap Palmer

The multiplication tables are made marvelously easy by master educator and songsmith Hap Palmer with the aid of 26 catchy tunes that breaks the process down into bitesized musical morsels of sing-along fun. Getting to the top of the Multiplication Mountain is a breeze and the 20-page lyric/activity book is a welcome support.

by John Wood from

Multiplication Mountain - Hap Palmer
Engaging songs help kids memorize the times tables.

Reviewed by Jacqueline Rupp

Parents need to know that unlike some kids' albums that sing about math facts, this CD is specifically designed to help kids memorize their times tables. With a climbing metaphor that begins with the easiest-to-learn tables (2, 10, and 5, for instance) listeners climb the imaginary mountain until they finally reach the summit to cover more difficult tables like 6, 7, and 8. Each song is repeated a second time without the answers so kids can test out
their skills.

Like many parents, Hap Palmer helped his daughter learn her multiplication tables. But while on homework duty, the award-winning songwriter and educator noticed something special about the way her teacher presented the tables. They began with the easiest tables, like 2 and 5 and then progressed up to the harder ones, sort of like climbing a mountain. Making this idea the basis for his release MULTIPLICATION MOUNTAIN, Palmer has crafted a collection of musical multiplication drills that focus on repetition and reinforcement to get listeners to commit those pesky multiplication tables to memory.

There are no silly sound effects, goofy voices, or giggle-inspiring jokes on this CD, so that means it's not the barrel of laughs that some kids’ albums can be. But just because it isn't in-your-face funny, doesn't mean it won't have kid-appeal. In fact, Multiplication Mountain makes learning the multiplication tables an appealing and even entertaining process. Hap Palmer does a good balancing act of creating cute, appealing lyrics that are sure to engage young listeners without distracting them from the task at hand. Each multiplication table gets its own easy-to-remember song, like"Waltzing Through The Threes," "Rockin’ The Fours," and "Fives Alive." This makes it a great resource for parents who can pop the CD in on a car ride or during homework crunch time.

Read the full review at:

Midwest Book Review
The Music Shelf, April 2009

Multiplication Mountain is a children's music CD designed to teach young people basic multiplication in a fun and catchy manner. Starting at the bottom of the "mountain" and learning the easy tables firs (multiples of 2, 10, 5, and 11) followed by the next tier (multiples of 3, 9 and 4), the next (Multiples of 6 and 8) and the peak (multiples of 7), kids learn about each table through its own song. A complete guide with lyrics and recommended activities rounds out this excellent educational supplement highly recommended for school and public library collections as well as listening at home to help little ones get on the right math track.
19 April 2009

Hap Palmer - Multiplication Mountain CD Review

There is most certainly a place for educational music. Hap Palmer is proof positive that an artist can be viable, entertaining AND educational. Palmer's latest is a musical multiplication table called "Multiplication Mountain". Your child will literally climb the metaphorical mountain as they progress from the "easiest" figures to protract out mathematically - 2s, 5s, and 10s - to the more challenging 6s, 7s and 9s (nine was always my favorite) . Following each proper song is another version, identical musically, but sansthe numerical answers. This is the genius of "Multiplication Mountain", the entertaining math romps first, serving as the lecture, then a duplicate romp standing in as the test. It's fast paced learning with a beat.

The well-recorded, professional musical arrangements are varied stylistically (from jazz to calypso to even a waltz) which assists in holding a child's attention. And with catchy, clever and easy to sing-a-long-with lyrics such as "...a 5 day trip becomes a 10 day cruise, you can double any number you choose" this CD will aid your little sponges as they learn to memorize the multiplication table (after all, no one seems to have a problem remembering song lyrics, yet most of us struggle with math. Hmmm...)

"Multiplication Mountain" is the perfect compliment to actual math class.

Posted by Jeff on Out With The Kids

Northeast Times
(a suburban Philadelphia paper)
April 4, 2009

By William Feldman


Multiplication Mountain is an educational CD that reinforces the multiplication table with major repetition with various musical genres.

Hap Palmer is an accomplished musician, singer/songwriter and educator, as well as the lyricist and musical composer of Multiplication Mountain. His musical abilities include guitar, bass, percussion, saxophone, flute and clarinet. He received his bachelor of arts degree in speech/drama and recreation from Chapman College in Orange, Calif., in 1965. He continued by obtaining his master's degee in dance education from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1982. All of his songs try to depict and enhance children's motor skills, language, reading readiness and basic math skills.

Hap's recordings and videos have received numerous honors, including the Parents' Choice Award, the American Library Association Notable Designation, the National Association of Parent Publications Award, The Early Childhood News Directors Choice Award and the American Video Award.

Whoever said that elementary school teachers do not have an impact on parents? Hap was intrigued when his youngest daughter Claralyse's thirdgrade teacher taught the multiplication tables in the order most children find easiest to learn - starting with the 2s, 5s, 10s and 11s tables first, the multiplication mountain approach.

Hap's other daughter Kelly, now 40, is a teacher at Serrania School in Woodland Hills, Calif.

Hap said, "She was teaching third grade when we tested out the multiplication CD."

The multiplication table on the CD is presented in chronological order with various genres: Jamaican, country, blues and rap. Each song has two versions: the first version teaches the math problem with its corresponding answer; the second version allows the child to sing in the answer, which is purposely left blank.

For more information, go to

Orange County Register
Monday, December 31, 2007
What educational activities should my child do during vacation?
ASK THE TEACHER: Carol Veravanich answers readers questions
Register columnist ASK THE TEACHER

Q. Could you suggest something for my child TO DO during vacation?
After Christmas, the kids get so bored. . . . I am looking for things
to keep my toddler busy learning, not just busy with learning toys.

A. . . . for your toddler, get some Hap Palmer music for him.
You can check the CDs out from the library if you do not feel like
spending any more money this season. Hap Palmer is my favorite
children's music when it comes to learning songs. There are songs
like "Marching Around the Alphabet," "Jumping to Add and Subtract,"
"One Little Sound," and "Colors in Motion" just to name a few.
Put down the toys and turn up the volume for a little dancing while you learn.

Contact the writer: Do you have a question about your child's education?
Carol Veravanich is an experienced teacher and assistant principal
who answers readers' questions each week. Contact her at or e-mail directly to

South Florida Parenting Magazine -

Hap-Pal Music
Ages 4 to 10

The catchy rhythms of the 12 tunes on this CD are sure to have kids clapping and singing along -- and learning Spanish while they do. Relying on the idea that young children engage and learn best through active participation, the compilation of songs includes a list of suggested activities designed to involve kids with body movements and sing-along that will help them learn numbers, colors, how to identify the parts of their bodies and a whole lot more, and teach them basic Spanish vocabulary, pronunciation and usage, too. "Un reloj feliz" ("Jolly Clock"), for example, invites kids to move their arms to imitate the hands of a clock so they can learn to tell time as they play and sing. "Creciendo" ("Growing") similarly teaches children about the way that plants and animals grow as they go from pretending to be a curled-up seed until they reach for the sky like the branches of a tree. Sounds perfect for preschools and kindergarten, but parents might want to add this one to the home collection for those times when they want to get the kids -- and their friends -- off the couch and up for some educational fun.

Carlos Harrison, South Florida Parent Magazine

The Midwest Book Review
Children's Bookwatch Music Shelf - April 2006

Divirtámonos Aprendiendo
con Hap Palmer
Hap-Pal Music HP115

Divertámonos Aprendiendo con Hap Palmer (Let's Have Fun Learning With Hap Palmer) by Hap Palmer is an easy-to-follow 66 minute introduction and exploration of the Spanish language for English speaking children ages of 4 to 10 (and the English language for Spanish speaking children within the same age bracket) just beginning to learn, as well as those children wishing to retain their current knowledge of the language. With a wide understanding and coverage of youth Spanish/English, Divirtámonos Apprendiendo con Hap Palmer covers both fun and educational aspects of each language with a track set consisting of La arana pequenita (The Itsy Bitsy Spider), Creciendo (Growing), Que Milagro (What a miracle), Doy gracias (Things I'm Thankful For), Sammy/soy feliz de ser como soy (Sammy/I'm Glad I'm Glad I'm Me), Veamos a los colores moverse (Colors in Motion), Un Reloj Feliz (Jolly Clock), Como re llamas? (What is Your Name?), Pon las manos ariba (Put Your Hands Up in the Air), Cinco monitos (Five Little Monkeys), La bolsita de frijoles (The Beanbag), Saliendo a la ciudad (Stepping Out on the Town).

From School Library Journal - June 2005 pg. 84

Can A Jumbo Jet Sing The Alphabet? (revised edition)
1 CD. approx. 59:41 min. with teacher’s guide, lyrics.
Hap-Pal Music. 2004. HP110E

PreS-Gr3- Hap Palmer’s latest release features fun and lively tunes that will have kids moving and learning. There are 25 songs, including three sing-along background tracks. This revised edition features six songs that were not included on the previous album such as two bean bag activity songs: “Sharing The Bean Bag” and “What Could A Bean Bag Be?” Also featured here for the first time are “Please And Thank You, Parts 1 and 2” which help familiarize children with ways to make requests and show gratitude in various languages such as Cantonese and Russian. There’s also a new version of Palmer’s adaptation of the classic tune, “Take Me Out To The Ball Game” which teaches the concepts of “more” and “less.” There’s a version of this tune for preschoolers and kindergartners and another one for youngsters is grades one through three. Among the songs from the previous version are “Round the World With Ways To Say Hello? and “Good-bye My Friends” which teach listeners how to say “hello” and “good-bye” in many different languages. Many of the songs would be welcome additions at story time. Public and school libraries would be well served by this title.

Maren Ostergard, King County Library System, Issaquah, WA

Two Little Sounds: Fun With Phonics And Numbers
(Hap Palmer) - Music Review


The Bottom Line
Basic phonics and number awareness skills are taught through music and movement in this educationally useful children's recording. Packed with activity songs that invite participation, this recording is
fun and educational. 

Ages: 3-6   Subject: Early Learning   Publisher: Hap-Pal Music

Product Overview
This follow-up recording to One Little Sound offers more activity songs designed to entertain and educate young children. Filled with valuable lessons in early reading and math, this pleasant recording by Hap Palmer (the artist behind many of the Baby Songs videos) stands out for its devotion to educating kids as they enjoy child-friendly music.

This recording is just as appropriate for home use as it is for Kindergarten and first grade environments. Key learning concepts are presented in fun ways. Most songs are original compositions, and the few cover songs are redone in fun and educationally valuable ways. For example, the familiar Apples and Bananas is redone to include both long and short vowel sounds in Apples, Bananas, Peaches, and Tomatoes. Hickory Dickory Dock teaches beginning consonant sounds as a procession of animals join the mouse in his travels up the clock. Different coin combinations that add up to 100 pennies are featured in Five Pennies Make a Nickel, and math word problems are ingeniously incorporated into the song Tall Tremendous Tens and Wee Wonderful Ones.

Participation is encouraged through lyrical prompts and questions. Musical questions are posed in many of the songs, and are followed by appropriate pauses so that little listeners get a chance to call out (or think out) answers before children deliver the "answer" lyrics. Other lyrical prompts encourage movement and activity. For example, What Are You Wearing? encourages children to perform specific actions (such as pat their pants if they are wearing pants) according to what they are wearing, where the action verb begins with the same sound as the object of clothing.

The second half of Two Little Sounds features instrumentals of many of the recording's featured 18 tracks. These instrumental versions allow children to sing along karaoke-style once they are familiar with the songs' lyrics, or they can be used to encourage creative movement.

The concepts taught on this recording are slightly more advanced than those featured on One Little Sound. For example, the dual letter sounds of letters like G and C are explored in The English Language Gets a Little Kooky (Consonants). While younger children will surely enjoy the song, it's unlikely they will be able to keep up with the educational concepts. The liner notes not only include lyrics, they present detailed suggested activities that take advantage of, and extend, the song's educational opportunties.

Released: 2004
Reviewed: January 2004

30 years ago in another time and place, Hap Palmer began an illustrious career that now spans 20 recordings. The latest from this talented edu-tainer, Two Little Sounds: Fun with Phonics and Numbers, neatly presents important pre-reading and math concepts through rhymes and stories and Palmer's unique interactive approach. As always, Palmer's production values are spot-on and children learn the value and identity of real instruments and sounds. The 41-page insert booklet full of supportive and extra-curricular activities is an absolute goldmine for parents and educators alike. Later in the year, Palmer will release an expanded version of his award-winning CD Can a Jumbo Jet Sing the Alphabet? Hap Palmer has and continues to be a stalwart in children's music. Catch you on the flip side!

Two Little Sounds: Fun with Phonics and Numbers, Hap-Pal Music

School Library Journal
March 2004
Volume 50 No. 3 (ISSN 0362-8930)

Two Little Sounds: Fun With Phonics And Numbers.
1 CD. 1:12 hrs. with lyrics/activities.
Hap-Pal Music. 2003, 2004 release. HP 114 CD859

PreS-Gr 3 – Hap Palmer continues to excel in the field of music and movement because of his ability to mesh educational lyrics with a variety of musical styles that maintain a high entertainment value. In this sequel to One Little Sound (Aug. 2002, p. 81), songs introduce phonetic and numerical concepts in an engaging way. There are 18 songs in a variety of musical styles such as swing, pop, polka, marches, and calypso. Many of the songs are original, but Palmer also adapts popular songs to extend their educational content, such as using "Down by the Bay" to introduce orchestra instruments. Among the songs are "My Rambling' Cat," "The One That Doesn't Rhyme," "Ten Monkeys in a Tree," "We Discover Number Patterns," "The English Language Gets a Little Kooky," "Five Pennies Make a Nickel," and "Apples, Bananas, Peaches, Tomatoes." The catchy songs and fun activities are sure to help children improve their math and reading skills. Two Little Sounds is equally suitable for home, storytime, or classroom use. Whether for pure entertainment or for extending lessons, it is sure to be a hit.

Cynthia Grabke, Thayer Public Library, Braintree, MA

Best New Audio

Two Little Sounds: Fun With Phonics And Numbers
AGES 4 to 9 – Hap Palmer

Don't let an earnest title scare you away from a terrific CD. Longtime kids' performer Hap Palmer (One Little Sound; Early Childhood Classics) has a ball with the idiosyncrasies of the English language - and throws in some mathematical high jinks to boot - on this clever, upbeat album. Folk-and blues-flavored tunes such as "Two Little Sounds" and "My Ramblin' Cat" help nascent readers learn what
changing consonants does to words, while "Meet My Travelin' Friends" plays with alliteration, not to mention geography ("Galen went to Guatemala/Kayla went to Kazakhstan":). And what allowance-minded little one wouldn't want to know that "Five Pennies Make A Nickel"? Hap-Pal Music

Family Fun Magazine, May 2004

Songs are Sung on the Playful Side

Two Little Sounds: Fun With Phonics And Numbers

Ages 4 to 9 – Hap-Pal Music

"P-I-G, my playful pig/ drop that P and use a W . . . Wig, wig, wove a wig / drop that W, and use a J / In his funny wig, he danced a jig": Hap Palmer, one of educational music's best teachers, offers another winning combination of catchy tunes and rhythms and substantive lessons in consonant and vowel sounds, number patterns, sounding out words, beginning math and more. The liner notes offer parents and teachers detailed lessong plans for the songs and the instrumental tracks that follow them.

Lynne Heffley, Los Angeles Times, Calendar Weekend. Thursday, April 15, 2004


New CDs

Whoever said that learning requires sitting still? Two Little Sounds: Fun With Phonics And Numbers abandons this notion by boosting listeners' reading and math skills through dance and music. Hap Palmer presents a medley of songs that focus on the relationship between letters and their corresponding sounds. Each of the tunes encourages kids to listen, think, move and sing (dancing shoes are not included.)

Pamela Brill, Playthings, February 2004


This CD has 18 songs by Hap Palmer. Each one teaches a letter sound or math skill. Palmer has established himself as an innovator in children's educational music through his 10 previous recordings. The music is intended to be interactive, and no preparation is needed when kids take in the fun and clever use of music and words. They can't help but play along! When my second grade played "My Ramblin' Cat," we were all groovin' to the fantastic swinging rhythm. This song could teach you the "at" family of words. It was very easy for the class to sing the song. "And it was super fun," the children declared." "The One That Doesn't Rhyme" is really a game song. The catchy tune is easy to follow, and the children can make up their own verses after they lean the rules. "We Discover Number Patterns" uses phonics along with the math lesson. The enchanting melody helps slow down the pace of this energetic production. At times the simple truth prevails, as in "The English Language Gets a Little Kooky" - it sure does! And there's one version for vowels and one for consonants.

In fact, each track on this recording is a gem you'll want to play over and over. Excellent arrangements throughout employ an array of musical instruments, from guitars, mandolin, and banjo to a full orchestra. Just naming the sounds heard is yet another valuable lesson.

The liner notes feature an activity for every song, with several coloring pictures. Every song also has vocabulary words, fun activities, and the number or letter focus for each.. The cover picture is appealing to children because it has animal characters from the stories. Palmer put a lot of work into this gorgeous and cool masterpiece. "He must be excellent with children!" the kids said.

Palmer's voice is natural, articulate, and enthusiastic - very important when listening to a language lesson. His previous recording, One Little Sound, won a Parents' Choice Gold Award, and this album seems headed for similar honors.

Linda J. Morris and Second Graders
(Baltimore, MD)
Dirty Linen, June/July '02

HAP PALMER - Singer/Song Writer/Musician

[Wendy at] I have the pleasure of working with Hap Palmer on his website. He is dedicated to education and children and it shows in his songs and music. Hap Palmer and I will share with you an interview that we did recently.

[Wendy at] Were you exposed to music often when you were a child?

[Hap Palmer] My mother sang in church and with a couple of different choruses. She took vocal lessons and unfortunately we children were not very supportive. When she would hit those loud high operatic notes we would yell "eeeuw!" I recall singing at a PTA meeting when I was a teenager. I sang a couple of 60's folk songs which met with polite but tepid response. Then my mother got up and sang "Indian Love Call" and brought the house down. That's when I realized hmmm I guess there is something to this light opera stuff.

My father had an extensive collection of swing big band recordings which he used to play for dance when he was in college. He was a dance DJ before the term came into use. As a child, I enjoyed lying in bed and listening to these recordings.

[Wendy at] Did you dream of growing up to be a singer/songwriter?

[Hap Palmer] I didn't start singing until I was in college. As a child I didn't even know what a singer/songwriter was. Actually, I never liked listening to singers. I only liked instrumental music. Stuff like Benny Goodman quartet with Lionel Hampton on vibes and Teddy Wilson on piano.

[Wendy at] What were your other childhood dreams?

[Hap Palmer] As a child, I don't recall having any dreams of grandeur. This came more in my teen years. As a child I was fascinated by many things. I did lots of fiddling around and tinkering with stuff, making craft projects, making forts and little secret hiding places, improvising plays, and the like. My kindergarten teacher wrote a note home to my mom telling saying "Harlan is one of her problems, he is interested in everything and can apply himself to nothing." (Harlan was my legal name, and Happy was my nickname). In high school, I dreamed of being a famous athlete. When this dream proved clearly unrealistic, I dreamed of being a famous singer.

[Wendy at] Did you fulfill those dreams? Why or why not?

[Hap Palmer] My Aunt Zuma, who I had great respect for, once asked me, " with so many people wanting to be singers and actors and there being such a need for teachers, why do you want to be on stage?" Making a contribution was very important to her. I still remember her in her 90's pretty much confined to her room, sitting there going through a big basket of buttons, finding matches, and sewing them on little cards for the church thrift shop. She was incredibly unself-centered, and did for others up to the day of her death. With her influence, my goals changed to wanting to use music in some way that would help others.

[Wendy at] What musical instruments do you play?

[Hap Palmer] Guitar, bass, saxophone, clarinet, and flute

[Wendy at] How long have you been playing?

[Hap Palmer] I started clarinet when I was 8 or 9 years old. A couple of years later, I added the saxophone. When I was in high school my sister went to Mexico for summer school and took up the guitar. I was quite taken with this instrument, and bought an old broken guitar from a friend for five dollars. The bridge had come unglued, so I drilled a couple of holes and bolted it back on. The case was an old blanket with belts to hold it around the guitar. I got a chord wheel and taught myself some chords. In the privacy of my room, I began softly singing as I strummed the guitar.

[Wendy at] How many songs have you written?

[Hap Palmer] I've never bothered to sit down and really make an accurate count. So many of my songs were just learning experiments leading to something better down the road. One good song is worth a million mediocre ones.

[Wendy at] You started off with teaching special education. What was the most memorable moment?

[Hap Palmer] Thirty years ago, I started with a class of what at that time they called "trainable mentally retarded." There were so many funny little moments like shaking a can of paint and the top flying off and paint going all over my white shirt. My students got such a kick out of this.

We were supposed to teach them just self help skills, like eating and dressing etc., and also simple skills like sorting and stacking. One day a boy came up to me on the playground and said, " This is a school for dumb people. Why do you like to teach at a school for dumb people?" He said, "I want to learn about that." As he pointed to a dusty globe on the top of a cabinet. This is when I started giving them more simplified academic work so they could feel they were doing what their siblings were doing.

[Wendy at] What education have you had that has highlighted and helped your career?

[Hap Palmer] I had an under graduate program in musicianship where I learned to hear and sing the intervals. This skill made it possible to hear a melody in my head and write it out, and also to sight read music. The graduate program in dance education at UCLA gave me many ideas for combining my music with creative movement for young children.

[Wendy at] How did you get involved with Amy Weintraub of Baby Songs?

[Hap Palmer] Amy Weintraub and Brooks McKewen had heard my music and contacted me. They shared their ideas regarding videos for children. We found we shared many of the same goals.

[Wendy at] How often do you come out with a new tape or video? What do you do in the meantime?

[Hap Palmer] I am always working on two or three ideas at once. After awhile one seems to rise to the top of the pile. I put together a new CD or revise and expand an existing recording every year or two.

[Wendy at] How do you balance your family life and work time?

[Hap Palmer] The same way everybody else does, with difficulty. It's always a challenge especially when both parents work. There are periods when I feel I'm not giving enough time or doing as well as I could in any area. Somehow, we all muddle through.

[Wendy at] What future dreams do you want to fulfill?

[Hap Palmer] I would like to have some of my songs translated into Spanish, and learn enough about the language so I could sing them in Spanish. I am taking a beginning Spanish class this semester.

Thanks Hap. Your music has been bringing real joy to many families over the years. I am so happy you have shared your thoughts and experience! (Wendy -

Hap is living his dreams. Visit his website at and see his many delightful recordings, lyrics and activities and teaching aids. Also check for his latest concert dates.

Interview done at

A Big Clap for Hap
Children’s Musician Connects With Tots
by Jill Weinlein

If your children were born after 1987, you may be familiar with songwriter, musician, teacher and music and movement consultant for young children, Hap Palmer. He has written and recorded over 300 songs. His recordings and videos have received
numerous honors including the Parents’ Choice Awards, the American Library Associations’ and the American Video Awards.

I discovered Hap Palmer’s through his Baby Songs video. My daughter Elizabeth especially liked the song, “My Momma Comes Back.” It helped my daughter overcome separation anxiety. When I left her with someone for a few hours, I sang this song to her, emphasizing the line “She always will come get me.” It never failed. Her fears calmed and she was ready to play.

To my pleasant surprise, our music docent in Elizabeth’s kindergarten class was Hap Palmer. His daughter attended our public school. Every other Thursday, Hap shared an hour of his time and talent with each class. Guess which day I volunteered to work in my daughter’s class?

It was such a treat to see 5- and 6-year-olds learn to say “Hello” in 10 languages (Can a Jumbo Jet Sing the Alphabet). They formed small groups and moved to the Rollercoaster song (Rhythms on Parade) without letting go of their partners. The children learned phonics from One Little Sound (coming out in January 2002) and danced to the jazz tune, “Bop ‘Til We Drop,” while learning motions that end in “op.”

Hap and I sat down recently, in the teacher’s lounge at Wilbur Elementary. This is what I learned about this kind, down-to-earth, and incredibly talented man.

Family Magazine: How old were you when you became interested in music?

Hap Palmer: I was 8-years-old when I received a drum set. The noise was too much for my mother, so she bought me a clarinet.

FM: Why a clarinet?

HP: My mother loved Benny Goodman and Artie Shaw. The clarinet was more popular then than it is today. Later, I played the saxophone. It was simple to learn, because it is another reed instrument. I liked the sound from the sax and continued playing in bands for junior high and high school dances.

I loved playing music. Once, while taking an important junior high test, I heard my buddies rehearsing for a dance. I scribbled and wrote down anything, so I could turn in my test and join in with my saxophone.

FM: When did you start playing the guitar?

HP: While at Chapman College in Orange, California, my sister returned from Mexico with a guitar. It was love at first sight and sound. I bought my first guitar for five dollars. The bridge was broken, so I drilled some holes into the old guitar and bolted a new bridge on it. With a clarinet and saxophone, you play only one note at a time. With a guitar, you can hear and sing all the notes that make up chords. I taught myself to play the guitar. Today, it is the instrument I use to compose all my songs.

FM: How did you get started with children’s music?

HP: I was teaching at a school in East Los Angeles. My class was all special education children. These kids had difficulty sitting in their chairs. So, I began singing educational songs that might get them up and moving. Their response was positive. One day, Della Blakeway, our school principal, walked into my classroom with a representative from the Educational Activities Record Company. He liked what he saw and soon I made my first record with them.

FM: At what age is a child ready for formal music lessons?

HP: 8 or 9 is a good time. Before this, I would expose my child to all types of music, dance and the arts. Parents should allow their children to explore music and instruments freely. This will enable them to follow their passion. If a child is highly motivated, and begging for formal lessons at 5 or 6, have them start and stay with the lessons for at least one month. Be certain the lessons are fun and allow the child to explore and learn in a playful manner.

We are born with all the brain nerve cells we will ever have. In the early years, our brains produce countless connections (synapses) between the nerve cells (neurons), these connections are reinforced through activity and experience. The neurons are hungry for stimulation. If we don’t use these connections, they may wither and die.

Studies show, when musical elements are introduced at an early age with rhymes, rhythms and repetition, children are sensitized to the sound of language. This is important when learning to read.

FM: Your songs are wonderful for parents to introduce to their young ones. Do you have other favorites?

HP: “Wheels On The Bus,” “Itsy Bitsy Spider,” “Head Shoulder Knees And Toes,” “If You’re Happy And You Know It,” “Open Shut Them,” “The Hokey Pokey,” and “Ring Around The Rosy” all are songs that introduce elements of movement and music.

For more information about Hap Palmer and his music, go to

Jill Weinlein is a freelance writer specializing in food, travel and family issues.
Summer 2003

Hap Palmer has received numerous awards including the Parents' Choice Award, the American Library Association Notable Recordings Designation, the American Library Association Best of the Best for Children, the National Parenting Publications Award, and the American Video Award. A summary of Hap's awards can be found here.

Audio of the Week:
One Little Sound: Fun With Phonics And Numbers

Kathleen Kelly MacMillan, Maryland School for the Deaf, Columbia, MD – 7/19/2002

From SLJ August 2002

PreS-Gr 2­ Hap Palmer once again proves himself the king of educational music with this delightful album of songs featuring phonics and math concepts. Each song encourages participation, whether by counting word chunks in "Chipmunk And Chickadee," moving with "op" words in "Bop 'Til We Drop," or putting together word sounds to find "The Secret Word." The lyrics and scenarios are clever and engaging throughout, often reinforcing several concepts in the same song. For example, "Ayee I Owe You" offers an easy way to remember the vowels, as well as a simple math puzzle to solve. Instrumental tracks of each song are also included. Palmer¹s delivery is typically easy-going and charming, inviting kids to sing along as much with his manner as with his words. Teachers will adore this treasure trove of lesson ideas, and public librarians will be no less delighted to find some wonderful activity songs here.

Hap Palmer has received numerous awards including the Parents' Choice Award, the American Library Association Notable Recordings Designation, the American Library Association Best of the Best for Children, the National Parenting Publications Award, and the American Video Award. A summary of Hap's awards can be found here.

Hap Palmer: One Little Sound - Fun With Phonics And Numbers From the "Baby Songs" man comes another warmly educational and fun album that aims to familiarize young children with letter sounds and numbers. Children count, sort, sing, and move along to the music. The CD comes with suggested activities, but the lyrics do a great job of inspiring children to act out as they listen. Excellent for preschoolers, both at home and in school.

Hap Palmer

"One Little Sound"

Possessing a truly charming voice, an easy, varied tunefulness and a clear cut knack for crafting fun, educational constructs, Palmer has been an award winning children's artist for over 20 years (the LA Times recently dubbed him the "Dylan Of The Diaper Set"). Subtitled "Fun With Phonics And Numbers," "One Little Sound" includes songs, a booklet with lyrics and extensive teaching hints (complete with each song's subject/lesson goals and suggestions for correlated activities, variations and follow-ups), and fills out the remaining disc space with insstrumental versions of the first 12 tunes. Remarkably clever and obviously effective as a learning tool, but it's pretty, too.

By Jim Musser
Iowa Press-Citizen
June 13, 2002

One Little Sound: Fun With Phonics And Numbers
Hap-Pal Music

How many "chunks" do you hear in "Chipmunk"? "What can you knock that starts with D?" "Hap Palmer proves again why he is one of the best educational music-makers in the country in this ear pleasing, think-along, sing-along release. Breaking words like "Chickadee and Chipmunk" into "chunks" helps young listeners understand the concept of syllables; sounding out letters is the key to a "Secret Word" song; and listeners "Bounce" through initial consonants.
Other tracks lead the way through recognizing vowel sounds consonant blends,and concepts of simple subtraction and addition. Vocals and instrumentals in jazz, folk and pop styles are top-notch. A guide with lyrics and learning activities is included.

Lynne Heffley
Los Angeles Times
Calendar Weekend, page 41
Thursday, May 2, 2002

Hap Palmer has received numerous awards including the Parents' Choice Award, the American Library Association Notable Recordings Designation, the American Library Association Best of the Best for Children, the National Parenting Publications Award, and the American Video Award. A summary of Hap's awards can be found here.


EARLY CHILDHOOD CLASSICS: Old Favorites with a New Twist HAP PALMER, Hap-Pal Music Palmer (Can a Jumbo Jet Sing the Alphabet?) is at his spirited best on this latest collection of songs designed to get kids moving. A master at blending music and simple movements for a fun (and, yes, educational) experience, Palmer takes an all-time-greatest-hits list of action songs and gives them fresh appeal. From "Itsy Bitsy Spider" to "I'm a Little Teapot," traditional tunes form the foundation upon which Palmer builds new, original lyrics and musical arrangements. "Pat-a-Cake" and "One, Two, Buckle My Shoe" take on a bluegrass flavor, while "Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes" approaches a bluesy rock sound. Several new verses turn "Bingo" into a nifty phonics lesson: "Bingo growled as gophers gobbled/ Underneath the garden/ Growl begins with 'G'/ Let's clap the letter 'G.' " Palmer's sunny vocals receive strong support from a bright sounding children's chorus and crisp accompaniment on a vast range of instruments. After Palmer sings the 15 songs they repeat in sequence again, as instrumentals, so that kids can sing along and perhaps even make up their own lyrics. A booklet containing song lyrics and suggested movements in included. Ages 1-7

34 PUBLISHERS WEEKLY – April 10, 2000

Hap Palmer has received numerous awards including the Parents' Choice Award, the American Library Association Notable Recordings Designation, the American Library Association Best of the Best for Children, the National Parenting Publications Award, and the American Video Award. A summary of Hap's awards can be found here.

Baby Songs Videos
by Scott Blakey 
Los Angeles Times Syndicate

Hap Palmer is the California troubadour whose sweet pipes have made kids from toddler to teen swoon with joy.

He is that rare artist who never exploits his core audience - in this case, children - with second-rate material. He's also a gentleman, a witty man and as kind as an old Airedale. His "Baby Songs" series won a host of awards and probably sold upward of 2 million copies.

Palmer combines lyrics and music with appealing graphics, glimpses of real kids singing and dancing, and puppets performing essential functions. In the original "Baby Songs," some ditties celebrated triumph - "Today I Took My Diapers Off" - while others went right to the core of being little - "Please Don't Wash My Blanket Today."

Palmer's newest release, "Baby Songs: Animals" mixes the usual and unbeatable combination of Palmer's music and a number of the creatures around us.

You can check out other releases and get more information by keying into the web at

The bottom line here is that these are not videos that inspire couch potatoes to do their thing. These are teaching videos that make kids sing and dance about. Palmer knows his stuff.
He also knows kids and has five of his own, ranging in age from 31 to 4, and a grand daughter who is 18 months.

from The Sentinel, Carlisle, PA February 19, 2000

Hap Palmer has received numerous awards including the Parents' Choice Award, the American Library Association Notable Recordings Designation, the American Library Association Best of the Best for Children, the National Parenting Publications Award, and the American Video Award. A summary of Hap's awards can be found here.

Oldies but goodies with an updated twist

Hap Palmer has been entertaining and educating children with his music for more than 30 years. And he still loves it, as evidenced in his latest CD, "Early Childhood Classics: Old Favorites With a New Twist." Palmer has taken favorite songs such as "Old McDonald," "Itsy Bitsy Spider" and "Bingo" and refreshed them. "I take traditional songs, write new verses and update them," he says. And kids love them. However, Palmer wasn't always making music for kids. He started out as a special education teacher in Los Angeles, always looking for ways to hold his studentsí attention in class. Often he would bring his guitar to accompany himself while singing folk songs. But the kids just couldn't sit still. "I was having difficulty keeping the kids in their seats," he recalls, "But I wanted to get the kids actively involved." Then he got an idea. Perhaps if he worked with the childrenís natural desire to move, combined it with music and wrote lyrics that helped expand vocabulary and with recognition of numbers, letters and colors, they could learn as well as be entertained. A new career direction began. And now, more than three decades later, Palmer still enjoys getting kids actively involved with his music. "Children, especially young ones, learn best with music," he says. And they are great inspiration for songs, he adds. The father of four grown children, one stepchild and a 4 year old, Palmer's music is kept fresh because he is able to stay tuned in to what kids like. He says his ideas come from all over. "I get them from every imaginable place," he says with a grin. "From reading articles to talking to teachers. From parents to children." Palmer has a small demo studio at his Woodland Hills home. "Once I write a song," he explains, "I'll do a demo to get feedback." The feedback he speaks of usually comes from colleagues such as Amy Weintraub, one of the two Los Angeles mothers (the other is Brooke McEwen) who approached him about using some of his songs in a series of videos they were putting together called "Baby Songs." So far, they have released three videotapes: ìBaby Songs,î "More Baby Songs" and "Baby Songs Goodnight." Two new videos are being added to the series Feb. 22: "Baby Songs Animals" and "Baby Songs Rock & Roll." The opening of each video features Palmer crooning the theme song: "Itís a wonderful day to go out and play. Hey, maybe you can come along. All you need to bring is a song to sing, a happy little baby song." Each video is approximately 30 minutes long. Tapes can be ordered by calling (800) 745-1145 or by visiting on the Web. Either can be ordered on his Web site,; or at or

DAILY NEWS February 18, 2000/ LA LIFE WEEKEND - page 42

Hap Palmer has received numerous awards including the Parents' Choice Award, the American Library Association Notable Recordings Designation, the American Library Association Best of the Best for Children, the National Parenting Publications Award, and the American Video Award. A summary of Hap's awards can be found here.

Look and Listen

"Baby Songs Animals" is a winner, inviting little ones to play and move along with real kids and real animals. You'd expect nothing less from children's music favorite Hap Palmer. Palmer, a pioneer in integrating music, rhythm and movement in early childhood education, sings catchy, deceptively simple original and traditional songs ("Itsy Bitsy spider," "What's Bigger Than A Bear?," "Old MacDonald," "Baby Chickie") and always adds a full measure of reassurance and heart besides. Viewers can pretend to be an elephant, a galloping horse or a chick breaking out of its shell; they can watch animal moms cuddle their babies, get a tuneful lesson in "big and small" and groove on watching kids their own age too. "Baby Songs Rock & Roll," a re-release, offers colorful real-kid footage too, but while the rock oldies that accompany the segments with kids playing and dancing - "Blue Suede Shoes," "The Loco-Motion," "Twist And Shout," etc. -are adult-pleasing and fun for kids to bop to, they don't connect to kids' lives the way Palmer does.

Los Angeles Times, February 17, 2000


Can A Jumbo Jet Sing The Alphabet? 
Ages 3-7. Hap Palmer delivers another winning recording that successfully combines music, movement, and other activities in the learning process. From the 16 short songs, children can learn numbers and phonics, identify tools and utensils, and discern the difference between fantasy and reality, among other concepts. Background instrumentation is effective, nicely supplementing the clear vocals. Lyrics and suggested activities are included in the guide, as is a list of the skills and concepts presented. Because each song deals with multiple concepts, it may be possible to use the music throughout the school year without repeating a single concept. Adult guidance is required. – Cynthia Alexa

Booklist/ February 15, 2000